Top Menu

Board of Directors



Stephen Marthouse
USCG Auxiliary Fifth District (NR) Historian

Vice President

John Loeper
Ocean City Life-Saving Station #30, New Jersey


LCDR Richard G. Ryder, USN (Ret.)
Historian and Author Seashore Sentinel


Patricia Ryder
NPS Docent at Old Harbor LSS


Michael S. Carlson, M.D.
Tillamook Bay LSS Preservation Project


CDR Timothy R. Dring, USNR (Ret.)
Lifeboat Historian and Author

Jim Hall
Chief of Cultural Resources Delaware State Parks

Debbie Allyn Jett
Historian, Researcher, and Contributing Writer

John Loeper
Ocean City Life-Saving Station #30, New Jersey

Kimberly Mann
Historical Architect Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore

Laura J. Quackenbush
Consultant, Great Lakes History and Interpretation
Cultural Resource Management

Sam Reid
President, Wood Island LSS Association

Patricia Ryder
NPS Docent at Old Harbor LSS

Laura Scharle
Site Manager, Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum

John C. Stires
Charter Member Indian River Life-Saving Station Museum

Frederick Stonehouse, M.A.
President, Marquette Maritime Museum

Jeff Shook Owner, USCG Station St. Clair Flats
President, Michigan Lighthouse Conservancy

Donna J. Weathers, CPO USN (Ret)
Genealogist. USLSS researcher and speaker

Advisory Board

Richard M. Boonisar
Past President, USLSSHA
Owner, Gurnet Life-Saving Station

Robert Browning, Ph.D.
Historian, U.S. Coast Guard

William Clark
Owner, USCG Station West Quoddy Head

CDR Maurice Gibbs, USN (Ret.)
Past President, USLSSHA
President Emeritus, Nantucket Shipwreck and Life Saving Museum

CAPT Dana A. Goward, USCG (Ret.)
Former Chief, Office of Boat Forces

Dennis L. Noble, Ph.D.
Maritime Historian and Author

Ralph Shanks, M.A.
Maritime Historian, Anthropologist and Author

CAPT W. Russell Webster, USCG (Ret.)
Maritime Historian and Author

Wick York
Historic Preservation Consultant

Photo Above:  Barview, Oregon c.1910.  The Tillamook Bay Life-Saving Station crew pose before launching their surfboat in good weather.  (Author’s Collection.)